Order of the Allied Masonic Degrees of England and Wales
and its Districts and Councils Overseas

District of Severn

Welcome Message From Ronald Slater
the District Grand Prefect

Welcome to the website of the Allied Masonic Degrees District of Severn. Here you will find an explanation of the Allied Masonic Degrees, the Councils that make up the District of Severn, the current District Grand Officers and contact details of our District Grand Secretary.

R.W. Bro. Ronald Slater District Grand Prefect"

The Order of the Allied Masonic Degrees was created in the late 1870's to give some cohesion to the various degrees that had originally been granted by the "Antients". The object of the original Constitutions as contained in Rule 1 was stated in the following terms: "In view of the rapid increase in Lodges of various Orders recognising no central authority and acknowledging no common form of government, a ruling body has been formed to take under its direction all Lodges of such various Orders in England and Wales and in the Colonies and Dependencies of the British Crown".

Between 1870 and 1931 there was much discussion as to which Orders fell under this new body, in particular Grand Council obtained control of a large group of Knight Templar Priest Degrees and also the Secret Monitor Degree from America. In 1923, following the formation of the Grand College of England of Holy Royal Arch Knight Templar Priests, Grand Council disclaimed all interest in such degrees; and after protracted discussions with the Grand Council of the Order of the Secret Monitor a treaty was signed in 1931 agreeing to cease the practice of the Secret Monitor degree under Grand Council jurisdiction.

The following degrees are worked under Grand Council. St Lawrence the Martyr; Knight of Constantinople; Grand Tilers of Solomon; The Red Cross of Babylon; and The Holy Order of the Grand High Priest.

Every Candidate must be a Mark Master Mason and a Companion of The Holy Royal Arch as the degrees worked today encompass and complete some of the explanations relating to those Degrees. A Candidate must first be admitted to the Degree of St Lawrence the Martyr, but the other four degrees may be conferred in any order and in any Council. Regalia today consists only of a Breast Jewel apertaining to the relevant degree.

There are 9 councils meeting in the District of Severn, in locations within the Craft Provinces of Bristol, Somerset, South Wales, West Wales and Wiltshire.